Group Play Is Not The Old Pug Camp Fest....new Tactics Needed

29 replies to this topic

#1 t9nv3

• PipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 72 posts

Posted 03 July 2014 - 09:25 AM

So, after abut five consecutive 12-1 stomps dropping in a 2 man, I think its time to move the discussion past the tired old "group play is broken" argument and into something more constructive. The old pug tactic of hiding or playing defensively will get you killed every single time. In EVERY single game I played one team pushed hard and just stomped the crap out of teams just milling about hoping to snipe at range. In spite of my best efforts to warn people, it seems that most group players aren't seeing how things have changed and are slow to adapt.

I'm not a pro-player....so I'm hoping people will help to improve group play by sharing tactics, or giving some pointers on how to play outside of the pug solo drop environment. This is how the game is played now....like it or not. The problem isn't dropping against a 12 man...the problem is a complete lack of understanding on how game flows outside the pug camp fest.

Edited by t9nv3, 03 July 2014 - 09:26 AM.

#2 Oni Ralas

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Marauder
  • The Marauder
  • 762 posts

Posted 03 July 2014 - 09:28 AM

Tactics are good, tactics are useful. Tactics fall apart with pinpoint damage mechanics.

Being in a 12man doesn't make you invincible, but the probability of success goes vertical when your makeup is dull of dakka and ppc. Hell, LRM even to some extent (which we all know I love...) but right now, even those aren't anywhere close to the 12man poptarts.

Edited by Oni Ralas, 03 July 2014 - 09:28 AM.

#3 t9nv3

• PipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 72 posts

Posted 03 July 2014 - 10:10 AM